My Literacy Journey

Implications for My Classroom: I Could Not Tell…

Posted on: May 4, 2010

Sharing that pain with others reawakens the interrelationship between others’ pain and our suffering.  It builds a community based not so much on our own suffering but on the suffering of all those we encounter. And that invites our compassion; it invites action“. (Bomer & Bomer, 2001, p. 174).

This quote captures the heart of what the Bomer’s stand for in terms of social justice locally and in broader terms.  Their text For A Better World, has really influenced a lot of what I stand for in terms of social justice in my classroom today.  One specific activity that I tried out myself begins with the prompt: I Could Not Tell…

If implemented seriously, this activity has the power to uncover things that were never spoken about before in classrooms. It can create a sense of community where students feel safe to share their fears, their failures, and their lives.  Literacy has the power to do all of this, if we let it.  I plan to utilize the work of the Bomer’s in my classroom to the fullest extent, especially this prompt.

1 Response to "Implications for My Classroom: I Could Not Tell…"

Another book that offers an excellent guild to critical literacy in a primary grade classroom is Vivian Vasquez’s exploration of her own teaching with preK and K children.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Marjorie Siegel: This can be the greatest lesson of all to take into your career as a teacher!
  • Marjorie Siegel: This is such a powerful way to make critical literacy work meaningful in local settings and to focus on deconstruction, reconstruction, and social act
  • Marjorie Siegel: Another book that offers an excellent guild to critical literacy in a primary grade classroom is Vivian Vasquez's exploration of her own teaching with

Categories

Archives

